The 2019 Iowa Artists Show for Area 11 will be held Saturday, April 20 from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. at the First Iowa State Bank’s Heritage Hall on the north side of the historic Albia Square. Indian Hills Community College Art Professor Lisa Fritz will judge the show.

Albia Elementary Art Teacher Kimberly Riney will lead an interactive workshop on the Art of Barn Quilts at 10:15 a.m.

At 1 p.m. Prof. Fritz will open a public program to announce awards, and will follow up with an artwork critique of all entries. Artists pre-registered for the show include: Sue Baer (Chariton), Deb Baughman (Bloomfield), Nash Cox (Chariton), Terry Cox (Chariton), Ben Foote (Ottumwa), Jennifer Hess (Albia), Linda Grice (South English), Denis Johansen (Knoxville), Ly-Lee Konopasek (Humeston), Kim Miller (Albia), Patsy Murphy (Knoxville), Ashley Pickens (Albia), Ravyn Sanford (Albia), Annette Scieszinski (Albia), and D.J. Sponsler (Chariton).

Area 11 encompasses counties of Appanoose, Davis, Keokuk, Lucas, Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, Wapello, and Wayne. Adult artists from these counties may enter the annual Area 11 Show with up to three artworks representing the artists’ original work within the last two years, and which is derived from the artists’ own experience. Ribbons are awarded in the discretion of the show judge, who also names a Best-of-Show winner. All blue ribbon award recipients advance to the State Show to be held May 18 in Ames.

The Monroe County Arts Council is providing support for this community art event.


  • Occurred Saturday, April 20th, 2019 @ 9:00 am – 3:00 pm


First Iowa State Bank

19 Benton Ave East
Albia, IA 52531


First Iowa State Bank