Leahy Medal Winners

Leahy Medal winners Jim Campbell (Super Senior) and Joe Bates (Senior) stand with fellow winner, Nate McCoy (Open) at the Iowa Golf Association Annual Awards Banquet.

A pair of Albia golfers won top awards when the Iowa Golf Association met for their annual awards banquet in December at Echo Valley Country Club in Norwalk.

Joe Bates and Jim Campbell came away with Leahy Medals for their play in 2019.

The Leahy Medal is named after 1991 Iowa Golf Hall of Fame inductee Bob Leahy of Cedar Falls. To earn the coveted award, a golfer must have at least one victory and three or more top five finishes in their respective brackets, playing in sanctioned IGA events.

Bates, 54, competes in Senior events and Campbell, 69, competes in Super Senior events. Both have won multiple Albia Golf club titles and Albia Pro-Am titles.

Bates was the Waterloo Open Champion, the Fort Dodge Amateur Champion, the Southeast Iowa Amateur Champion, finished third in the Carroll Amateur, fifth in the 34th Iowa Mid-Am and third in the Iowa Open. He was one of nine Senior players to receive the Leahy Medal.

Campbell was the 41st Iowa Senior Amateur Super Senior Champion, the Fort Dodge Amateur Champion, Carroll Amateur Champion, SE Iowa Amateur Champion, Herman Sani Tournament runner-up, Waterloo Open runner-up, 24th IGA Four-ball runner-up and the Briarwood Amateur runner-up.

Campbell was one of three Super Seniors to earn the Leahy Medal. Campbell was also named IGA Super Senior of the Year and the Phul Joselyn Inspirational Player of the Year.

Recommended for you