Gov. Kim Reynolds issued a disaster proclamation for seven counties including Monroe County to be eligible for the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program and Iowa Disaster Case Management program

The proclamation for the seven counties was in response to severe weather beginning May 17 and continuing. The governor’s proclamation activated the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program (IIAGP) for qualifying residents and the Iowa Disaster Case Management (IDCM) program.

The seven counties declared are Appanoose, Cedar, Davis, Johnson, Lucas, Monroe and Pottawattamie. Individuals suffering losses of personal property or having structural damage to their personal residence may contact the local SCICAP Monroe County outreach office located at 221 South Clinton in Albia, phone 641-932-5107. The South Central Iowa Community Action Program with its central office located in Chariton serves Clarke, Decatur, Lucas, Monroe and Wayne Counties.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program (IIAGP) may provide up to $5,000 of assistance, reimbursement and/or vendor voucher, for covered items to households at or below 200 percent of the federal poverty level.

Applications must be made through SCICAP Monroe County outreach coordinator Tina Maddison at the Monroe County community action outreach office. You may be eligible for repair or replacement of items damaged by storms/flooding. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of proclamation to submit a claim which is July 15, 2019.

The Iowa Disaster Case Management (IDCM) program is to address serious needs to overcome disaster-related hardship, injury or adverse conditions. Disaster case managers work with clients to create a disaster recovery plan and provide guidance and referrals.

There is no income eligibility requirement for Disaster Case Management and there is no direct financial assistance provided by Disaster Case Management. Disaster Case Management closes 180 days from the disaster proclamation or Dec. 2, 2019.

Recommended for you