• Albia Union-Republican Since 1862
  • Monroe County News Since 1890
  • 4-County Shopper
  • Cable Channel 6

Gov. volunteer awards to go Keller, Buckingham - Albia Newspapers: News

Gov. volunteer awards to go Keller, Buckingham

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, November 1, 2017 9:52 am

Jim Keller and Josh Buckingham, both of Albia, received a Governor’s Volunteer Award from Gov. Kim Reynolds and Lt. Governor Adam Gregg during a special recognition ceremony held Oct. 27 at the Bridgeview Center in Ottumwa.

Keller was honored for his volunteer work in Monroe County including his work as president and founder of Welcome Home Soldier, a Veterans organization building a monument located in Albia to honor Veterans nationwide as well as his work with the Monroe County Sports Complex and the hitting and pitching facility. Keller was nominated by Dianne Durian, recently retired Monroe County Veterans Affairs Director.

Buckingham was nominated by the Oskaloosa Area Chamber and Development Group. Buckingham served as Oskaloosa Area Chamber and Development Group president from July 2014-June 2015 and has been board president of Main Street Oskaloosa since September of 2013. He is a board member of Mahaska Health Partnership Foundation and the Oskaloosa Area Chamber and Development Group.

Buckingham also coaches Little League baseball in Albia.

“Volunteerism is such an integral part of what it means to be an Iowan,” Gov. Kim Reynolds said. “I’m pleased to honor those who have given of themselves to meet the needs of others.  Their commitment helps improve the lives of those around them and consistently keep our state’s volunteerism rate in the top ten nationally.”

More than 600 awards were presented this year during ceremonies held at several locations around the state. It is estimated that more than 31,000 hours of service, with an economic impact of more than $727,000, were served by this year’s honorees during the past 12 months.

Coordinated by Volunteer Iowa, the Governor’s Volunteer Award program—now in its 34th year—provides an easy way for Iowa nonprofits, charitable organizations, and government entities to honor their volunteers with a prestigious, state-level award.

Others receiving awards included Mike Lamb, Moravia; Lacie Capps, Stockport; Chris Denny, Agency; Judy Dorman, Centerville, Molly Franke, Ottumwa, Karen Hafner, Oskaloosa, Sue Huff, Ottumwa; Jade Johnston, Frairfield; Shirley Kelderman, Oskaloosa; Janet Masterson, Oskaloosa,Mary Lue McCartie, Oskalooa, Mark Neff, Oskaloosa, Jamey Robinson, Oskaloosa and Carolyn Walker, Ottumwa.

Area groups honored included the Oskaloosa High School FFA and the Mahaska County CERT.

© 2017 Albia Newspapers. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

Most Popular