• Albia Union-Republican Since 1862
  • Monroe County News Since 1890
  • 4-County Shopper
  • Cable Channel 6

Former ACHS player will coach girls bball - Albia Newspapers: News

Former ACHS player will coach girls bball

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, August 23, 2017 9:08 am

The Albia Community School Board approved two head coaching positions at its Monday meeting. Katy (Paxton) Dykes was named the head varsity girls basketball coach and Aaron Koester, an assistant under Coach Gary Gravert for two years, was named only the second head soccer coach in Albia school history.

Koester, who has headed up an extremely successful youth traveling program, replaces Gravert, who started the program 17 years ago and built it into a southern Iowa powerhouse.

Dykes is an ACHS alumni (2003) who has a physical therapy practice at Mercy Hospital in Centerville. Playing for Larry Achenbach his first two years as head girls basketball coach, she was a four-year letterwinner for Albia, earning first team all-conference twice and was academic all-state her senior year. She still holds the school record for career three-point shooting. She went on to letter four years in basketball at Central College, holding the single game three-point record for 10 years and is second all-time for the Dutch in career three-pointers. She was also an Iowa Conference Academic All-Conference player three of her four years.

While earning her doctor of physical therapy degree from Des Moines University, she served as a volunteer assistant coach for Des Moines North High School. She also coached softball under Mitch Chance during her time at Central College.

The board also approved Tori Albough as assistant varsity volleyball coach and junior high softball coach. She will teach high school special education.

Other personnel decisions included offering a bus driving contract to John Hyde and approving the employment of Sara Popson, Taylor Schertz, Ginger Peters and Katie Major as para professionals.

Mike Shull’s resignation as bus driver was accepted.

A number of volunteers were approved including: Julie Kaster, Julie Foreman, Carrie Selby, Paige Bradley, Sarah Hopkins, Jenni Beckwith, Clint Carter, Jody Buckingham, Steph Kosman-

Baker, Andrea Beary, Gunnar Wyatt, Kristy Haas and Macey Romanco.

© 2017 Albia Newspapers. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

Most Popular