Newly elected officers sworn in

MAGISTRATE JUDGE Kevin Maughan administers the oath of office to newly elected Monroe County Courthouse officers, from left, John Pabst, Monroe County Attorney, Dennis Amoss, Monroe County Supervisor, Tracy Casady, Monroe County Recorder and Peggy VandenBerg, Monroe County Treasurer.

After being sworn in at 8 a.m. Wednesday, Monroe County Supervisor Dennis Amoss was elected supervisor’s chairman at a 10 a.m. first meeting of the year. Treasurer Peggy VandenBerg, County Attorney John Pabst and Recorder Tracy Casady were also sworn in after being re-elected in November’s general election.

John Hughes becomes vice chairman of the board of supervisors.

The Monroe County News and Albia Union-Republican were named official newspapers for the county. The board also designated President’s Day, Feb. 18, Easter, April 19, Memorial Day, May 27, Independence Day, July 4, Labor Day, Sept. 2, Veteran’s Day, Nov. 11, Thanksgiving, Nov. 28-29, Christmas, Dec. 24-25 and New Year’s Day, Jan. 1, 2019 as county holidays.

Committee appointments were made.

Dennis Amoss will serve on the following boards and committees: ADLM environmental Health; ADLM Facility Management; Chariton Valley Planning and Development; Chariton Valley Transportation; Community Health Center of Southern Iowa; CROSS Mental Health Region (along with Katie Fisher); Monroe County Board of Health; Rathbun Land and Water Alliance.

John Hughes will serve on the following boards and committees: ADLM Emergency Management; 8th Judicial Court; ADLM Empowerment; Albia Industrial Development Corp.; Council on Aging; Decategorization Executive Council; Helping Hands of Monroe County; Rathbun Area Recycling; Southern Iowa Development and Conservation Authority; South Iowa Area Crime Commission; Welcome Home Soldier (along with Carrie Gray); Southern Iowa Emergency Planning (along with Ray Vitko Jr., Jeremiah Selby, Mike Lamb.

Mike Beary will serve on the following boards and committees: 10-15 Regional Transit; 911; RSVP; Soap Creek Watershed; South Central Iowa Solid Waste Agency; Southeast Iowa Response Group (HAZMAAT); Southern Iowa Regional Emergency Planning; Workforce Development.

Jeremiah Selby will serve on the following boards: Indian Hills Regional Development; Safety and Security and Courthouse and Public Building Security (along with Judge Greg Milani and Ray Vitko Jr.).

Ray Vitko Jr. will serve as Local Disaster Coordinator.

Katie Fisher will serve on the SIEDA Board (substance abuse) and State Hospital Advisory Board.

Deb Call and Karei Breitenbach will serve on the Planning and Zoning Commission for three-year terms.

Amanda Harlan and Kristin Mick will serve as Health Plan Administrators.

Mike Lamb will serve as Disaster Coordinator/ADLM Emergency Manager.

Dianna Husted will serve as Weed Commissioner, ADLM Environmental.

The board appointed Stephanie Haywood, Cheryl Chambers and Mary Jo Schoenberger as deputies in the treasurer’s office. They appointed Kim Wynn as deputy in the Recorder’s office and part-time employees, Ellen Maddison, Mary Lou Rinehart and Carol Yenger.

Recommended for you