Election Winners

BIG LOCAL WINNERS from left, Holly Brink, Denny Amoss, Peggy VandenBerg.

There was no “Blue Wave” in Monroe County. In fact the South Central counties of Monroe, Lucas, Wayne and Appanoose glowed red in the 2018 general election.

Republicans in Monroe County mostly picked winners. The only candidate to lose in Monroe County and win district wide was Democrat Congressman Dave Loebsack. Loebsack lost by a 55-41 percent margin to Christopher Peters in Monroe County, but easily held on to his Second District House seat.

Incumbent Republican Auditor Mary Mosiman also won big over challenger Rob Sand, 1,776-1,206, but lost her re-election bid to Sand in one of the closest statewide races of the night.

At the county level Democrat Treasurer Peggy VandenBerg won by a near 61 percent margin over Republican Lisa Kline, 1,907-1,226. Otherwise, it was a complete Republican sweep and by large margins in contested races.

It wasn’t surprising that House 80 Republican candidate, Holly Brink, of Oskaloosa won over Susan McDanel of Moravia, but the margin of victory was. Brink doubled up on McDanel in Monroe County, 2,018-1,101 (a 64 percent margin) and won in Appanoose County 2,803-2,200. Overall Brink won by 63.5 percent, 7,625-4,383. Brink held House 80 for the GOP, replacing the retiring Larry Sheets.

The governor’s race in Monroe County was even more lopsided with Kim Reynolds and Adam Gregg outpolling Fred Hubbell and Rita Hart 2,052-1,060, a 65 percent margin. Tuesday’s gubernatorial race was a wild ride with Hubbell leading by huge margins early as urban areas came in, then Reynolds slowly closed before winning by a 30,000 vote margin as rural areas poured in.

For Secretary of State, incumbent Republican Paul Pate clobbered Deidre DeJear 2,085-920, a 68 percent margin. He also won statewide.

Jeremy Davis, a Republican, beat Michael Fitzgerald, 1,560-1,466 in Monroe County but Fitzgerald, the incumbent Democrat, defended his office.

Mike Naig beat Democrat Tim Gannon 1,936-1,042, a 63 percent margin and went on to win the race statewide by a comfortable margin.

Tom Miller, first elected Attorney General in 1978 garnered 71 percent of the vote, beating Republican Marco Battaglia 1,956-769.

The race for Monroe County Board of Supervisor wasn’t close at all with three candidates in the race. Adding both John Ballard’s and Scott Kelly’s votes, Denny Amoss would still have won by 84 votes. As it was, Amoss, the incumbent Republican won with 1,606 votes, a 51 percent margin of victory. Independent Scott Kelly received 767 votes and Democrat John Ballard had 755 votes.

Tracy Casady, incumbent Democrat recorder picked up 2,388 votes and John Pabst, incumbent Republican county attorney picked up 2,507 votes running unopposed.

Outside of partisan offices, all candidates were unopposed. David Fynaardt was elected Pleasant Township Trustee with 91 votes, Warren McGlothlen was elected Pleasant Township Clerk with 88 votes, Joe Bates and Jason Summers were re-elected to the Monroe County Hospital Board with 2,150 and 2,283 votes respectively, Joe Pyle and Bob Scott were re-elected as Soil and Water Conservation District Commissioners with 2,114 and 2,122 votes respectively, Amber Reed, 1,913, Terry Maloy, 1,739, Josh Buckingham, 1,930, Dien Judge, 1,755 were elected to the Monroe County Extension Council.

All judges were approved by Monroe County voters by an average vote of 1,400 yes to 750 no.

Recommended for you