• Albia Union-Republican Since 1862
  • Monroe County News Since 1890
  • 4-County Shopper
  • Cable Channel 6

Monroe County among those listed in disaster declaration - Albia Newspapers: News

Monroe County among those listed in disaster declaration

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, October 6, 2017 9:51 am

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) designated three Iowa counties that have seen extensive damage from the recent drought as primary natural disaster areas. Specifically, the counties of Appanoose, Mahaska and Monroe are included in this declaration.

Benefits are also available for the contiguous counties of Davis, Jasper, Keokuk, Lucas, Marion, Poweshiek, Wapello, and Wayne.

 All qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for Farm Service Agency’s (FSA) emergency (EM) loans, provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

© 2017 Albia Newspapers. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

Most Popular