• Albia Union-Republican Since 1862
  • Monroe County News Since 1890
  • 4-County Shopper
  • Cable Channel 6

Judge Scieszinski steps down from district bench - Albia Newspapers: News

Judge Scieszinski steps down from district bench

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, July 14, 2017 9:51 am

Judge Annette Scieszinski submitted her letter of retirement June 28, 2016. Judge Scieszinski served as a Judge of the Eighth Judicial District, Sub-District 8A, which includes Appanoose, Davis, Jefferson, Keokuk, Mahaska, Monroe, Poweshiek, Van Buren, Wapello and Washington Counties. She was appointed to the bench in 1996.

Prior to that she was in private practice in Albia for 14 years and served as Monroe County Attorney.

The District 8A Judicial Nominating Commission, comprised of five lawyers and five non-lawyer citizens and the senior judge in the district, who acts as candidates to replace Judge Scieszinski.

The following are the commission members: Judge Joel Yates, Chairperson ;

Dan Bunnell, Grinnell; Keith Caviness, Ottumwa; Leonard Maselli, Fairfield; Ann Young, Centerville.

Attorneys involved in the interview process include, Bryan Goldsmith, Ottumwa; Dustin Hite, Oskaloosa; Diana Miller, Fairfield; Kathryn Salazar, Washington; John Webber III, Ottumwa .

The Judicial Nominating Commission has established procedures for filling the position of district court judge in Judicial District 8A and the Supreme Court of Iowa has adopted an application to be completed by each person who wishes to apply for nomination to be a District Court Judge. Copies of the application can be obtained from the District Court Administrator’s office for the Eighth Judicial District, 333 North Court Street, Ottumwa, IA 52501, by emailing cathy.reck@iowacourts.gov, or by calling 1-641-684-6502, ext 110.

All applications must be received by the Court Administrator’s office no later than 4:30 p.m., Thursday, Aug. 3. No late applications will be accepted. The names of the applicants will be made available to the public after the deadline for filing applications.

Applicants must be members of the Iowa Bar, a resident of the sub-district of the court to which they are nominated, and shall be of such age that they will be able to serve an initial and one regular term of office before reaching the age of 72 years.

All applications will be considered; however, if there are more applicants than can be effectively interviewed, the commission may elect to screen the applicants and interview less than all. The selected applicants will be given an opportunity to appear before the entire Judicial Nominating Commission for a personal interview on Aug. 10 and 11 at the Keokuk County Courthouse in Sigourney. The applicants’ submissions and materials shall be open to the public. Applicant interviews shall also be open. The public will be allowed to observe and listen but not interact. Commission deliberations and voting will not be open to the public.

The Commission will submit the names of two nominees to Governor Reynolds who will then appoint one to fill the vacancy.

© 2017 Albia Newspapers. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

More about

Most Popular