Election Results

It may be as late as Friday before the nation knows who its next President is. If Donald Trump holds on to late leads in North Carolina, Georgia, Nevada, Michigan and Pennsylvania, he will run re-election. If he somehow climbs over a less than one-percent margin in Wisconsin, it will be as big as his first electoral win.

If mail-in ballots somehow go to Biden, it could be a different story.

The story in Monroe County, however, is a Red tidal wave. And if Marionnette Miller-Meeks 272 vote edge over Rita Hart holds up, you can thank Monroe County Republican voters who gave the Ottumwa physician and state senator a huge 2,611-1,201 (68.49 percent) edge over Hart.

Monroe County experienced a 79 percent turnout of registered voters, casting 4,084 votes. Monroe County voted 2,974-1,078 for President Trump, a nearly 73 percent margin of victory. Iowa gave Trump a seven-point victory and will prove critical to his electoral success should he win re-election.

Monroe County voters gave Joni Ernst a 68.43 percent victory (2,742-1,147) over Theresa Greenfield. Her U.S. Senate seat was targeted by the national Democratic Party and out-of-state donors. She won re-election by a relatively safe 51.8 percent margin.

The race for U.S. House District 2 has yet to be determined with Miller-Meeks holding on to a 272 vote lead.

Oskaloosa farmer Ken Rozenboom won re-election to Iowa Senate District 40 with a whopping 75 percent of the vote over Lance Roorda (2,844-961).

Holly Brink ran unopposed and won re-election to House District 80 with 3,156 votes.

Mike Beary (R) received 2,667 votes for supervisor to become Iowa’s longest serving county supervisor. John Hughes (D) won re-election with 2,350 votes.

Democrat county auditor Amanda Harlan ran unopposed and received 3,022 votes for her re-election.

Dan Johnson (D) won re-election as sheriff with 3,044 votes running unopposed.

Marilee Scieszinski and Ann Stocker were re-elected to the Monroe County Hospital Board.

Jim Nelson, Marvin Wirtjes and Don Niebuhr were elected as commissioners to the Monroe County Soil and Water Conservation District.

Kim Wynn, Jon Bradley, Megan Evinger and Renee Peterson-Howell were elected to the Monroe County Extension Council. Christine Wilson was elected to the council to fill a vacancy.

Monroe County gave yes votes to retain all judges.

More results in Tuesday’s Monroe County News.