Albia A

With positive cases of COVID-19 spiking across the state, the Albia Community School District is shifting to a hybrid learning system for grades 7-12. Pre-school and elementary school (K-6) will not be affected at this time. Hybrid classes will start Sept. 2 and go to Sept. 18 in the 7-12 building, according to Superintendent Kevin Crall.

Students will receive 50 percent of their instruction in person and 50 percent on-line. Students will be required to take classes at home on-line and will be graded for their work.

Students will go every other school day. Students with last names beginning with the letters A-K will attend class on Wednesday, Sept. 2, Friday, Sept. 4, Wednesday, Sept. 9, Friday, Sept. 11, Tuesday, Sept. 15, and Thursday, Sept. 17. Students L-Z will attend Thursday, Sept. 3, Tuesday, Sept. 8, Thursday, Sept. 10, Monday, Sept. 14, Wednesday, Sept. 16 and Friday, Sept. 18. There is no school on Monday, Sept. 7 due to the Labor Day holiday.

Indian Hills Community College classes will meet daily unless lHCC communicates differently. The Career Academy and welding classes will meet based on the alphabetical system.

Superintendent Crall said the county’s percentage is still under 15 percent (around 13.2 percent Monday) but was creeping upward to the hybrid baseline of 15 percent. He said there were a “few” active cases in the 7-12 building with some pending cases.

There will be no change in extra-curricular activities.

Recommended for you