Legacy of Rino and Ruth Della Vedova continues

Della Vedova Scholars pictured include from left, front, David Fisher, Travis Sheffield, Brock Ratliff, Sherryl Mae Rowe, Ian Flahive; back, Tim Shehan (presenter), Barrett Bonnett, Michael Thomas, Adam Waber and Bradley Yenger.

The legacy of Rino and Ruth Della Vedova continued with the graduation of the Albia Class of 2021. With 15 move Della Vedova Scholarships awarded Friday, the total amount of scholarships for engineering, architecture and closely related fields grew to over $1.7 million since the trust was set up in 1990.

Rino Della Vedova was the prime builder for Hy-Vee Food Stores in the early years of their development and also did considerable commercial and industrial building in Albia.

Three 2021 graduates received scholarships, including David Fisher, son of Darin and Jeni Fisher for the study of engineering at Iowa State University; Brock Ratliff, son of Todd and Kim Ratliff for the study of mechanical engineering at ISU and Travis Sheffield, son of Trent and Angie Sheffield for the study of mechanical engineering at ISU.

ACHS alumni receiving awards included Joe Beary, son of Pat and Andrea Beary, ag engineering, ISU; Trent Garver, son of Matt Garver and Julie Garver, industrial engineering, Kansas State; Jer McAninch, son of Kirk and Susan McAninch, ag systems technology and industrial technology, ISU; Brandon Persons, son of John and Sara Persons, robotics engineering, Worchester Polytechnic Institute; Karter Spieler, son of Mike and Kay Spieler, mechanical engineering, ISU; Andrew Winke, son of Bill and Pam Winke, aerospace engineering, ISU; Bradley Yenger, son of Jeff and Carol Yenger, electrical engineering, ISU; Barrett Bonnett, son of Dustin and Dola Bonnett, mechanical engineer, ISU; Ian Flahive, son of Donna Flahive, engineering, ISU; Sherryl Mae Rowe, daughter of Alan and Arnie Rowe, computer science, Dordt University; Michael Thomas, son of Justin Thomas and Janelle Knapp, electrical engineering, ISU; Adam Waber, son of Andrew and Michelle Waber, mechanical engineering, ISU.