Paxton steps down as board president

Carnegie-Evans Public Librarian Marilyn Woods presents Dave Paxton (along with grandson, Davante Moore) with a plaque commemorating his 36 years serving as president of the library board.

Dave Paxton recently stepped down as President of the Carnegie-Evans Public Library Board after 36 years of service.

Paxton joined the board shortly after arriving in Albia in 1982 and became president after Robert T. Bates stepped down from the board after many years.

He served on the board with legendary supporters of the library including Bates, Sylvia Rosenthal, Betty Bonker, Helen Homerin and Colleen Putnam among others.

Lois Mick was elected new board president with Sally Bachman vice president. Other board members include Sue Goode, Ron Hohneke, Sharon Crall, Dan Walker, Melinda Montgomery, Joe Starcevic and Paxton.